Tags

, ,

Miracle in Cell No. 7Year of Broadcast: 2013
Country: South Korea
Plot & Photo source: Wikipedia

Lee Yong-gu (Ryu Seung Ryong) is a mentally challenged man with the intelligence of a 6-year-old, which is actually the age of his own daughter Ye-sung (Kal So Won) who is much smarter than her peers. The two of them lead a happy life while Yong-gu makes a living by working as a parking attendant at a local supermarket. But one day, when the police commissioner’s young daughter dies in a strange accident, Yong-gu is the one who happens to find her. He is falsely accused and sentenced to death for abduction, sexual assault, and murder of a minor. Ye-sung is sent to a childcare institution and Yong-gu gets imprisoned and assigned to Cell No. 7, the harshest cell in a maximum security prison.
T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

I blame this movie for my sickness last week (I was absent at work for two days).

This review will be simple and sweet. If ever you haven’t watched this movie yet, I suggest you do so now.

The thing with Miracle in Cell No. 7 is it started in a light-hearted manner (except the beginning where we are introduced to the circumstances surrounding Yong-gu and Ye-sung), the type where you’ll laugh out loud but as it neared the end, you’ll be left bawling your eyes out.

For those who don’t like overly dramatic movies, don’t be dissuaded from giving this movie a try because this is the type of movie where in the drama comes from your heart being touched after witnessing the pure love between a father and his daughter. I honestly think everyone should watch this, it is that great (it’s a new favorite).

This film turned me into an ugly sobbing mess. I was watching with my little nephew and he was asking me why I was crying and after that, I just bawled out loud (yeah it was embarrassing). Also, I was looking for more info about the movie after watching it and as I read the comments from those who have watched it, tears just started to fall.

I will not go into specifics about this film because it is better appreciated through watching but one thing you should now is the little child actress rocks!

No wonder this movie has become a big hit in South Korea🙂

My rating: 5coffeess