Tags

, , ,

Truth is more uncomfortable than lies, so most people ignore the truth. I am the same. – Park Soo Ha

I Hear Your Voice

Alternate title: I Can Hear Your Voice
Number of episodes: 18
Year of Broadcast: 2013
Broadcast Network: SBS
Plot source: DramaWiki

A thriller courtroom drama with fantasy and romantic comedy elements. It will depict the story of Jang Hye Sung (Lee Bo Young), a bold, sassy, thick-faced, comical, and materialistic public defender who becomes a lawyer after overcoming poverty and painful memories from her childhood, comes to realizations about society and justice after meeting Park Soo Ha (Lee Jong Suk), a 19-year-old boy who reads other people’s thoughts and Cha Kwan Woo (Yoon Sang Hyun), an innocent lawyer who lives a disciplined life. Jang Hye Sung is actually Soo Ha’s first love after she gave a decisive testimony on his father’s murder case 10 years ago and Soo Ha promised to protect her from the killer’s threats. Meanwhile, Cha Kwan Woo is Jang Hye Sung’s fellow lawyer who is a cheerful and idealistic former cop even though his character a bit slow, he is nice and pleasant with a firm idea of his principles and justice. Together they will team up to to find the justice in the courtroom and solve the toughest cases with less than 1% chance of winning.
T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

I am a sucker for Flower Boys T______T (someone please cure me of this)

Park Soo Ha

So I have dl-ed I Hear Your Voice (IHYV) since last year but I only got the time (and inclination, lol) to watch it last week.

I have heard so many positive things about this series and couple that with the ratings that it has received, I decided to finally learn what the fuss is all about.

Sadly, the series failed to blow me away. Again, I don’t know if it is just me (perhaps my decreasing interest in dramas is affecting my judgment? lol) or some other people may also have the same opinion. Frankly, the last korean series that I have enjoyed was Emergency Couple (and before that The Master’s Sun).

I Hear Your Voice (16)

My overall opinion of IHYV is it is an okay drama. If you’ll ask me what I liked best about it, I would say that I loved the opening episode. I love everything about episode one that if I would base my rating from that episode alone, I would rate IHYV five stars. It was so intense and I kept thinking, now I finally know why most people love it.

I Hear Your Voice (26)

However, as the series progressed (I still loved the few succeeding episodes), my love for the series started to decrease. The extra two episodes were unnecessary (imo). If I were to summarize my feelings/thoughts for this drama, the beginning is stellar, the ending is great (I love how it ended in a positive note), there are so many lessons one could learn from the episodes and the main OTP is sooo adorable (I’m not really a fan of noona romances but daaaamn, Soo Ha and Hye Sung are perfectly made for each other). However, if I were to contrast all of that with the number of episodes (or minutes) that I found uninteresting, the cons outweighs the pros.

I Hear Your Voice (1)

Still, even with all the things said, IHYV is entertaining. The only thing is, for me, the story would’ve worked best if it were reduced to 12-14 episodes (I think I should try to watch japanese dramas next).

My rating: 4coffees