Tags

, , , ,

Kami-sama, if I said I love Irie-kun even more… would you be mad?

INK Love in TokyoNumber of episodes: 16
Year of Broadcast: 2013
Broadcast Network: FUJI TV

At a high school entrance ceremony, high school student Kotoko Aihara (Honoka Miki), who isn’t that smart, notices pretty boy Naoki Irie (Yuki Furukawa). She falls in love with him immediately. Kotoko initially doesn’t express her feelings to him, but finally has a chance to tell him how she feels. Unfortunately, Naoki turns Kotoko down, saying “I don’t like dumb women.”One day, Kotoko Aihara’s house is severely damaged by an earthquake. Until the house is rebuilt, Kotoko Aihara and her father decide to live with her father’s friend. When Kotoko Aihara moves to her new temporary house, she is surprised to learn that Naoki Irie lives there as well (plot and photo source: Asian Wiki).
T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

Itazura na Kiss Love in Tokyo (InK): 9.5

It is quite ironic that my last review post (eight months ago) and my latest post are all about the same drama.

I don’t know if I were being prophetic in my post last January but I got the surprise of my life upon learning of the remake last June. I was able to watch the first eight episodes last July (I think) and it was only last week that I was able to finish the remaining episodes.

ItaKiss (4)

My verdict? I can’t really tell more (or write a super long review) because I feel that I have exhausted all my feelings in the review I made of the old version.

But get this, I think in terms of my enjoyment in watching and the feeling it evoked from me, I would pick the 1996 version. As to which Naoki I like better, I would prefer the old one. There is just something with a classic series that gets me (I’m thinking of the old KimuTaku dramas) or perhaps it is because of my frustration with the 1996 version. You know how they say that the more you hate the more you love? It is that way for me with the old version.

Before you throw things at me and decide that I have lost my touch in anything Asian drama, I would gladly explain my side. Although I still like the 1996 version more, it is purely subjective. If I were to be objective, the 2013 remake definitely beats the 1996 version.

Even though there are millions of possibilities, it doesn’t mean anything if you don’t know what you want to do.

In terms of story line, faithfulness in the original manga and depiction of the characters, the 2013 version is the absolute winner. The funny thing is, all of my complaints regarding the 1996 version are addressed in the remake. All of it (except for my clamor for a second season, lol!). In addition, although I still favor the old Naoki, I think Yuki Furukawa‘s Naoki is the closest depiction of Naoki ever (Zhi Shu is my favorite but he still had his slip ups xD). In line with that, the 2013 remake is also the most faithful adaptation out of all the drama versions (except for the comet part).

ItaKissItaKiss (1)

The weird thing is, remember how I said that I have watched the first half last July? During that time, the series was okay for me, however, as I finished the series last week, I found myself liking it better than when I first saw it. Even the OBB grew on me🙂

What I am looking forward though is for this series to have a second season. For me, the after marriage part is one of the most interesting arcs in the story.

ItaKiss (8)

I would’ve said more but I’m thinking of doing a review of all four version because it can aptly illustrate my points about this drama because one cannot review this without drawing comparisons from the previous ones.

p.s. I have this review in my drafts even before I wrote my Master’s Sun review🙂

My rating: 4coffees