Tags

Is it safe to say that this is the fifth installment in the Endless Love series (or not?)?🙂

P   L   O   T

“Love Rain” depicts a 1970’s pure love and a love from the present day at the same time. It shows how the children of a previous ill-fated couple, who met in the 1970s, managed to meet and fall in love. Seo In Ha and Kim Yoon Hee, an art student and a shy beauty, met and fell in love with each other during college in the 1970s but unfortunately their love was fated to never be. Now in the present 21st century Korea, Seo In Ha’s son, Seo Joon (a liberal photographer) meets and falls in with the daughter of Kim Yoon Hee, Jung Ha Na, a cheerful and energetic girl who’s personality is different from her mother’s. Will their love for each other keep them together or will they have to face the same fate as their parents? (source: dramawiki)

T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

Before I go on with my review, let me remind you that Love Rain (LR) is currently on episode 10 as I’m writing this post (hence, my thoughts about this show could change come the next 10 episodes)

The truth of the matter is, ever since I’ve heard about Love Rain a year ago, it became my most awaited korean series for 2012. I’m a fan of the Endless Love series (who isn’t?) AND well, Geun Suk is casted as the main male lead.

However, when I learned that Yoona is to be the female lead, my interest waned (sorry peeps, I do not like Yoona),

somehow, I can not imagine Yoona embarking on a big project such as LR (and yeah, I’m abit bias).

p.s. LOL. I was supposed to finish this review two days before but STUPID STUPID wordpress won’t let me blog properly T.T And so I sort of lost my original thoughts about the series (the same as the emotions I had a few days back), but rest assured I’ll try to come up with a good one.

MOVING ON, for those who have not yet seen this drama, the first four episodes were dedicated to the story of Joon’s (Geun Suk) father, In Ha, and Ha Na’s (Yoona) mother, Yoon Hee.

 

Of course, as the plot above so kindly stated, their love will never see its fruition. From the comments I’ve seen about Love Rain’s first few episodes, many have been disappointed about the story. They frequently mentioned that everything is okay with Love Rain, the cinematography was exceptional and the likes but they said that it kinda fell below their expectation.

Let me share my experience. From having high expectations of this show, it lessened right before I even started watching it. Then came episode 1. Contrary to popular opinions, I liked the first episode. Heck, I’m even fine with Yoona as the lead girl (and I can not find a flaw in her acting).

Once again I’m drawn by Geun Suk’s acting. Definitely one of my favorite actors. You can pair him with any girls and he’ll surely have chemistry with any of them. I like the premise of In Ha and Yoon Hee’s story. I can even remember getting frustrated as early as episode 1.

However, in my opinion, they could have contained the back story in at most two episodes. I dunno, but come episode 3, I was wishing to see their children’s story. My take on it is this: we already know that we can never see Yoon Hee and In Ha happy, therefore we should move on.

The end of episode 4 provided us a glimpse of Joon and Ha Na’s first meeting (in Japan)

 

I dunno whom I like more, In Ha or Joon. I think I like them both. Joon and Ha Na are the total opposites of their parents. Episodes 4 and above are more funny and (interesting) than the first four ones. If ever you are having second thoughts on watching LR, I suggest you watch episode 1, and then go directly to episode 5! haha.

The thing about Joon, he is a self-proclaimed playboy (and all the while I thought he was not interested in girls! bleh). I was expecting that when he finally get to meet Ha Na, he’ll fall in love at first sight, but to my heart’s satisfaction, it didn’t readily happen😀 And I love how Joon slowly realizes that he is feeling something for a girl who has no fashion sense (his words not mine).

 

And the scene where Ha Na used Joon’s ‘three-seconds’ line on him. Joon’s shocked face and the way it was implied that his heart was actually affected because of what Ha Na did (precious).

 

and the ensuing scenes. Honestly, Joon struggling with what he was feeling for Ha Na was a sight to behold. I think in any Geun Suk drama, he kinda have this dilemma (how to finally admit his feelings to the one he likes). I like how he shows everyone that he does not care for Ha Na, but when everyone is not looking, he does something to make sure that Ha Na will not be hurt (or discomforted). That is not to say that he does not want to make his feelings known, there were plenty of times when he openly shows to Ha Na his heart.

 

And I think, this picture above finally sealed it. If there is any doubt in Joon’s heart that Ha Na is really the one, after this scene, it seemed that he ultimately realized that he loves this girl. That he is drawn to her whatever she looks like, that he loves her for who she is.

 

 AND the stolen kiss part. IT literally made my heart jump. Few dramas/pairs/kissing scenes made me feel this way (I can count it on one finger actually).

OTHER PAIRS

Even if it is obvious that I ship Joon-Ha Na, I can’t help but root for other pairings! LOL.

One is TaeSung – Ha Na. I like Tae Sungs character to be exact. I even want to see him and Ha Na together (haha). I think, he will be Joon’s greatest rival. Still, I’m a bit confused by his character. There are times that I think he likes Ha Na but there are times when it feels like he only treats her as a dongsaeng. But the fact that he is frequently involved in Ha Na and Joon’s affairs and him being a hotel heir pretty much say that we have to watch out for him in the future. I just hope he won’t turn into an embittered love rival.

Next is Sun Ho-Ha Na! I love seeing them together. As in I really really really do. When they are together I feel happy and as if there will be nothing wrong in the world. I love Sun Ho’s character better than his dad were before (and for me, he is one of my fave. characters). I think he’ll be the ever reliable friend to both Ha Na and Joon. Plus it wouldn’t hurt to see Joon jealous of his ‘relationship’ with Ha Na right? (I don’t want to foreshadow here but if ever the writer suddenly gets the impulse to make Ha Na sick, Sun Ho would play a big role, remember the part where Sun Ho told Ha Na that he’ll be her physician forever?)

Having said all of that, best wishes to Ha Na and Joon. Knowing the writer’s knack for melodrama and the like, I hope we, viewers, can endure whatever is in store for them.

and yeah before I end this review, I leave you with this gorgeous Joon photo. I think I’ll add more thoughts on this post when this series ends. So see you in a few weeks time.

P.S.

I was internally analyzing whether Love Rain gives me the ‘Endless Love’ vibe, hmmm, aside from the cinematography part, I can’t quite connect it with the Endless Love series. I dunno, unlike the other four, Love Rain has still to produce a great memorable song that we can associate with it (admit it, you can still remember the past Endless Loves OSTs). Plus, it just feels different. I can’t pinpoint whether it is because a long time has passed since Spring Waltz (what, like six years or so?) that the quality of Korean series’ changed or is it because LR lacks the ‘magical’ feel that Autumn Tale, Winter Sonata and Spring Waltz had (didn’t watch the third one).

However, even if it does not give me the Endless Love vibe, I absolutely like the way Love Rain is taking. I’m liking the plot, the characters and all. I am even looking forward to every episode. So it really isn’t such a bad thing. So as I said in the beginning of this post, is this supposed to be the fifth Endless Love? or not? I think there isn’t any article stating it is the fifth, but it is definitely the series where EL’s director and writer reunite with after many years.

 

double ps. sorry for the grammatical errors, I’ll edit it as soon as possible (when I get the time).