Tags

,

C’mon, c’mon, c’mon EVERYBODY GO!

P   L   O  T

Anyone familiar over You’re Beautiful (Korean drama) will realize that Ikemen Desu Ne’s the Japanese counterpart. Though technically following the same plot, each has their differences (will not elaborate more).

For the sake of those who are unfamiliar with the story, it revolves around a fictional boy band named A.N.JELL. Miko (Takimoto Miori) is a nun-in-training who has to pose as her twin brother and take his place in the group, leading to a complicated relationship between the group’s members (source: dramawiki + a little tweaking from yours truly).

T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

I never got to fully understand why I watched this. Probably because of my love for the Korean version, probably because I am intrigued, or probably because it was my may of reconnecting with Japanese dramas.

Anyway, before watching Ikemen Desu Ne, I wasn’t familiar with any of the casts (save for Yaotome Hikaru – I think I saw him in some JE vids before). As to be expected, I can’t help but compareit with the original – especially actor wise. Jang Geun Seuk is really an enigmatic person. I can still remember the first time I saw them performing, I was like “it seems okay, the Japanese song sounds cute”, thinking that so far, nobody stood out yet. Then after seeing them for a few more minutes,

I learned that the guy who played Ren (Tamamori Yuta) is quite lovely. I don’t know if it was his role but for me he was effective in acting out Ren’s part. I love how he acts and how he always seems to pout! HAHA.

And for Miori (Mio), this girl reminds me of Ueno Juri (my favorite J-actress), there is a semblance right? I would definitely want to see her in future dramas🙂

The biggest surprise for me is Shu (Fujigaya Taisuke). I would admit that I never did have a crush on him, he is the exact opposite of what I look for in a guy (Taipi that is) but why is it that whenever he performs on stage, he outclasses all the performers (never fails at that)?. I notice it the first time I saw them perform (episode 1). I was wondering who the guy in the hat was (so sad I was too lazy to snap a picture) or if he was supposed to be the lead, but it turned out he was the second lead.

It even lead me to watch his other performances, and since Yuta and him are in the same group, forgive me in saying that TaiPi shines more when performing. FOR REAL. IDK why, but it’s as if he is born to perform. Put him and Yuta on a stage and I would pick Taipi. The pic above is from their Everybody Go PV (IDN’s OST) and I gotta tell you this song has been in my head for quite some time now. I absolutely love Ikemen Desu Ne’s OSTs, they are all good.

Before I get distracted, let me clarify that I may prefer TaiPi as a singer, but if you put actor Yuta and actor TaiPi together, I will surely choose Yuta. LOL. I am shipping Ren x Mio obviously. This two’s too cute🙂

I never did pine for a Shu x Mio/Shinwoo x Minam pairing in the original version, nor did I sympathize deeply for Shinwoo’s character, but in this version, I did like Shu (especially towards the end) and there were times that I was glad that he was always there by Mio’s side.

Sorry for the not-so-detailed review. I would just like to share that I watched this in intervals. I watched it when it was airing, then came the waiting for an episode per week, then came finals week and I’m glad I was able to finish it now. Overall, I like this version a lot. It has differentiated with the original version by a bit and I appreciate those details. I remember crying at the episode when Mio was trying to win over the kids😀 and the part where in little Mio and Miko were shown. And these are my words during the first episode: this series will be epic.

Still, there were scenes that I wished were included. For example the episode where they were in an indoor pool, I super love that episode. However, it’s quite understandable that they need to cut some scenes because of the limited number of episodes.


I’ll leave you with Ren and his epic pouting! lol.