Tags

,

Kiss kiss fall in love! ~*

P  L  O  T

The story revolves around a high school girl named Fujioka Haruhi (Kawaguchi) at the prestigious Ouran Academy, who stumbles upon a group of male students who have formed their own club as hosts. Accidentally breaking an antique vase, Haruhi ends up owing the club a vast amount of money, and she ends up posing as a host in order to repay her debt (source: dramawiki).

T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

Upon hearing about the plan of creating an Ouran LA, I became excited -and doubtful at the same time. Ouran is one of my favorite animes and mangas (though I have yet to finish the manga!), of course I would be happy to see it on screen. However I was afraid of two things: (1) The actors who will portray the characters may not suit who I have in mind, and (2) how can they act out the outrageous scenes/parts in real life (it isquite obvious that it is easy to do anything when it comes to anime but LA? It can be a disaster if done poorly).

Came the announcement of the actors who will star in the series. I don’t have any objections towards the lead girl, but about the lead actors, can I just say that I was disappointed? Apart from Yamamoto Yusuke, it will be the first time I’ll be seeing the other leads.

I have nothing against Yusuke, I had seen him in some series and he was okay but forgive me in saying that I was mostly disheartened (at first) to see him play as Tamaki Suou. Tamaki Suou is in my top five list of favorite anime male characters. I love everything about Tama-chan so I guess you can understand where my doubts are coming from. I could probably care less about the other actors chosen but I’m extremely critical on who will play Tama-chan.

Nevertheless, as I learned from watching dramas, with less expectations come less disappointment.

It took me an episode to appreciate this series, and eventually the characters.

Disregard my initial doubts. I really enjoyed every episode. As in every single one of it. I love all the characters, and Yusuke as Tama-chan is now acceptable (he’s soo adorable). I think the fact that every episode is only 22 minutes long helped because that way, we are only given essential scenes. For me, the series stayed true enough to the anime. The only sad thing is because it’s only an 11 episode drama, each character’s personality is not fully explored.

A few notes about some of the characters:

Tamaki sempai! Nothing much to say but it was really fun to see him and his comical actions🙂 I feel bad for feeling that way about Yusuke before. Thanks to Ouran, I now have a different view of him.

She looks a bit like Ayase Haruka, ne? I have no complaints about her being Haruhi, in fact I love her and would want to see her in more dramas in the future🙂

Kyoya senpai! kyaaaa! I never grew interested in Kyoya in the anime (because I was glued to Tamaki all the time) but in this drama, I can’t help but to notice him. I think he’s perfect in his role and I can still remember my heart’s ‘doki doki’ moment during the part in the drama where he took his glasses off! He and Haruhi do have chemistry ^____^

The biggest revelation to me is Hani/Honey. He acts like a child: check. He loves sweets: check. He is always with Mori: check. He’s a great martial artist: check. Seeing him with these traits in the anime is one thing but actually seeing it acted out by a real person is another. When he spoke with a manly tone, I was like: ‘gyaaaaabbbbbboooooooooooo”.

Watching Ouran LA is a gem. I never expected that I will come to love it. Watching them will never bore me. If only there were a few more episodes added. But hey I think it’s better that way. If you would like to take a break from all the heavy dramas in other series, and you find yourself yearning for a good laugh and feel good vibes, then you should watch this series.

Plus there’s a movie coming next year! I could not wait to see it. I hope it will feature the manga’s end (I read it at wikipedia, lol). For in the drama’s ending we were given a glimpse of Haruhi’s awakened feelings towards Tamaki-chan😀