Tags

, ,

How’s a 28-episode series for this blog’s revival? Good enough feat🙂

P  L  O  T

In this drama based on basketball (and somewhat on the anime Slam Dunk), a Taiwanese national team basketballer, Yan Xing Shu plays the lead Duan Chen Feng, whose world consists of his 2 greatest loves: basketball and his girlfriend, Xiao Xi (Angela Zhang). They find their perfect world shattered, however, when on the day of his most important match, Duan Chen Feng has an accident on his way to the competition, and paralyses Angel (Margaret Lin), who just happens to be the sister of Iceman (David Chen), his biggest opponent since they were young. To shoulder his responsibilty, Chen Feng leaves school and his basketball so that he can take care of Angel. Xiaoxi, who does not know the reason behind Chen Feng’s leaving school and giving up his beloved basketball, is heartbroken and bewildered. At about the same time, the other lead male character Tai Zi, or Prince (Tony Sun), enters the plot. He falls in love with Xiao Xi’s plucky and determined character.chen feng’s gentleness to angel causes angel to have feelings for him….how complicated can this love triangle be? (source: dramawiki)

T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

It had been nine years after this drama aired and I was only able to finish it a while back, pretty pathetic right? LOL.

Let me first say that the biggest reason why I did not watch My MVP Valentine before was because of 5566. It was aired during the time when F4 was at the height of their popularity and I’m sure everyone can understand how I felt toward any group that will challenge them. Back then, I instantly disliked 5566 – and all things associated with them.

Still, during the few times that I was able to catch it on TV, I found the story interesting but it was not enough to make me watch it. If there was one thing I like best about MMV, it was the OST, the song Wo Nan Guo to be exact. Up until now, I still know and love the song.

Guess what? It was Wo Nan Guo thatconvinced me to watch this series. My roommate and I after hearing the song from my playlist talked about the series and Tai Zi’s name came about. We tried to recall scenes from the drama and realizing that we haven’t watched it fully, we were quite excited to see it.

I’ll be frank in saying that before, I found both Chen Feng and Tai Zi not handsome, and if I were to choose, I’d stick with Tai Zi. Even though I have not watch this series, I somehow knew that it would be Xiao Xi and Chen Feng in the end. Which added more to my heartache since I thought Taizi was more suited to Xiao Xi.

Let us move on to Tai Zi/Liu Ha/William. Remember how I said that I disliked 5566? The only one I liked (a bit) before was Jason, however, after watching Without Your Love (prior to watchin MMV) and during the first few episodes, I found myself drawn to him. I initially thought that his character was like Dao Ming Si, but I was mistaken. If there would be a person who will be close to perfection, it would be this guy. If a guy like him would ask for my hand, I will not hesitate in saying yes. Everytime I see him on screen (especially the part where in he was walking during the ending credits), I could not help smiling. I am inlove. Not with Tai Zi alone, but with Tony Sun as well.

Much to my surprise, I actually find Chen Feng attractive. Perhaps it is because of his skills in basketball, but all the same, there were times that he looked so hot. Especially during the ending credits where he was running (seriously, I suddenly developed this thought that I want to have an athlete boyfriend) LMAO. And then I thought, if it was I who was in Xiao Xi’s shoes, I would also choose Chen Feng. No matter how much I love Tai Zi (my audience self), but in reality, it will always be Chen Feng. It will always be the person who you loved first.

If only Tai Zi and Xiao Xi met first, then things would be different. Of course I would root for them to be together, but then the script writer thought otherwise. The thing is, my heart was shattered everytime I see Tai Zi heartbroken. Ever felt that your heart was squeezed too tight? That was how I felt. Such a great guy like him does not deserve to be unloved, if only Xiao Xi loved him for even a short period of time.

I wish there were more basketball scenes included. Think about it, there were 28 episodes, and there were only like 2-3 episodes which dealt with basketball. As much as I wanted to see some lovey dovey things going on, but it would have been better if there were more basketball. They hired real players, why not make use of them? Also, imagine sitting through all those episodes which had the same theme: Prince – Xiao Xi – Chen Feng – Angel. I would not even start on Angel (such a waste of space xD). If they based it loosely on Slam Dunk, then they might as well live up to it (i.e. focusing on Tai Zi’s progress from a noob to a great player, etc.).

Nonetheless, the moments were in the team have decent enough exposure were the best. I love all of them.

Especially Gao Xing! Next to Tai Zi, he is my second fave🙂 Although his acting was a bit off (which was understandable since he’s not into acting), with him there, I feel secure, I feel that nothing bad will happen. Which leads me to…

One of my favorite pairing. Barbie-Gao Xing. Aren’t they lovely? I love them both. Whether they come in pair or not. Barbie is ultra adorable, she brought happiness in the show.

I’m almost nearing this review’s end, but let me just say that I enjoyed watching this series, heaps. I think it was a bad move for our local channel to put MMV against Meteor Garden because naturally, people will resent it. I’m glad that I was able to overcome my prejudice and now, can I just say that I like 5566? Really. After watching this one, Tony made his way to my top three favorite actor list. Not kidding!

As to the show’s ending, I could not ask for more, but I would want to see Tai Zi happy.

Loving her doesn’t mean I need to be with her

If I were a brilliant script writer, I would make a sequel – dedicated entirely to Xiao Xi and Tai Zi. HA!

I leave you with some quotes🙂

"I wish I can keep her in my pocket so that no one can take her away."
"Then why don't you snatch her away?"
"Xiao Xi is not an object"
"Even if I did that, she still wouldn't love me" (Angel and Prince talking)
"If Duan Chen Feng doesn't like you looking old, tell me, I like it" (Tai Zi to Xiao Xi)

And one of my favorite exchanges:

"What's to fear? When it comes to violence, we have the world's most violent person
in the team" (DJ, referring to Gao Xing)
"What's the use when I'm the only violent one?" A gay afraid of pain and sweat
is enough to drag the team down (Gao Xing, referring to DJ)