Tags

,

Secret Garden is probably one of my favorite dramas of all time🙂

P   L   O   T

The drama tells the story of Kim Joo Won (Hyun Bin), an arrogant and eccentric CEO who maintains the image of seeming perfection, and Gil Ra Im (Ha Ji Won), a poor and humble stuntwoman whose beauty and body are the object of envy amongst top actresses. Their accidental meeting, when Joo Won mistakes Ra Im for actress Park Chae Rin, marks the beginning of a tense, bickering relationship, through which Joo Won tries to hide a growing attraction to Ra Im that both confuses and disturbs him. To complicate matters further, a strange sequence of events results in them swapping bodies (source: dramawiki).

T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S 

Now, I’ve seen a lot of kdramas, some I liked, some not so much, most I have decided not to finish (My Princess, SKKS, Cinderella’s Sister, etc), but Secret Garden, after seeing just the first episode, completely blew me away. You get the picture right?

I have known of SG’s presence ever since it aired but at the time I was busy and I felt dubious about Hyun Bin and Ha Ji Won’s onscreen chemistry. Not to mention the fact that I’ve seen movies dealing with the same plot (body switching) and it did just not work for me.

However, Secret Garden defied it all (my doubts). It is one of the best korean series there is, and we’re not dealing with teensie/idol groups/cute guys (I have nothing against them btw xD) here but real drama. Over the years, I felt that kdramas in general changed pretty quickly and I’m just glad that SG brought back what Kdrama for me means🙂

The best thing about SG? Everything. The plot, the script, the setting, the actors, the music. LALALA. I love the humor of the story, more specially I love Hyun Bin’s lines. It made me crack up so hard I almost fell off my chair (and I almost strangled my cousin). If there’s one thing I won’t forget about this series, it’s Joo Won and his precious lines. I love all the casts but for me, Hyun Bin shines the brightest. He is such a great actor. Honestly (he’s one of my faves). See the drama for yourself (if you still haven’t seen it). He can do practically everything. He can be the childish JW, spoiled JW, serious JW, loveable JW, girly JW, dumb JW, traumatized JW, name it, he’s done it all.

Another gem of this drama is HB and HJW’s chemistry. They are oozing, sizzling with chemistry. Sparks literally fly when they are together. To say that I was surprised is probably the least of what I felt. Everytime they are shown together, my heart would do this crazy flip flops I would want to see more of these two in the future (After Binnie’s discharged in the army). I have a thing against a series extending beyond 16 episodes but for this one? No complaints on my part. I was not bored.

Favorite scenes? The Sit-ups, the cream-kiss, everytime Joo Won stares at Ra-Im, the part where in Joo Won acted as an extra in a film (?) etc. There are a lot, see? LOL.

I have too many things running through my head so I guess it’s better that I enumerate them.

* Oska reminds me of Takuya Kimura. IDK why. You’ll probably understand me if I say I like him🙂 He brings laughter when he’s in the scene right?

* Seul and Oska’s love story were given so much air time that at times I felt they were the lead xD

* Han Tae Sun!!!

* The ringtone (Munja Wassyong, it’s my RT!), Joo Won’s Kim Soo Han Moo

* Director Im! He’s hot right? Who’s with me? Especially with his impressive English🙂

* Joo Won’s a cutie, and I am glad to see his character’s development through the series. In fact I think it’s one of the greatest things about this drama.

* Gil Ra Im’s a tough girl right? No one can be perfect for Ji Won but her.

* Secretary Kim FTW! Such a funny guy😀

* Who will forget the track suits (stitch by stitch xD)?

* Joo Won’s elevator scene will forever be embedded in my memory (such an intense scene you’ll even see Joo Won’s veins popping)

I’ll stop my review here. There’s so much to tell but I’ll leave it up to you to discover for yourselves🙂