Tags

xposted on my newblog (I can’t help sharing this)

P   L   O  T

ELIZABETH CAMERON

The Countess of Havenhurst possessed a rare gentleness and fierce courage to match her exquisite beauty. But her reputation is shattered when she is discovered in the arms of Ian Thornton, a notorious gambler and social outcast.

IAN THORNTON

A dangerously handsome man of secret wealth and mysterious lineage, his voyage to Elizabeth’s heart is fraught with intrigue, scandal, and a venomous revenge.

Destined for each other, yet wary of each other’s motives, Elizabeth and Ian engage in a dance of suspicion and passion that tests the very soul of their star-crossed love. As a twisting path of secrets takes them from London’s drawing rooms to the mysterious Scottish Highlands, Elizabeth must learn the truth: is Ian merely a ruthless fortune hunter at heart? (book overview)

T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

Almost Heaven: 10

I now declare that Ian Thornton is my ultra favorite fictitious (book) character. He even surpassed Mr. Darcy (to note that Pride and Prejudice is my favorite book ever). So be prepared for a lengthy review.

I think I’m liking the idea of romance set in the historical era, it’s more romantic and challenging, and refreshing ‘coz it’s always the CEO man falling inlove with a girl (not that I’m complaining).

Now, now. Though I haven’t felt overly emotional as much as I had for Paradise and Perfect, Almost Heaven by far, I can say is my favorite work of McNaught’s. Not only that, it has become one of my Top Five faves. That folks is how amazing Almost Heaven is.

I was thinking of things to say about this book, and there are in fact a lot of things to say.

I love everything about it, I know I may have said this a lot before, but now I am more adamant in saying it. I love the characters, situations, places, dialogues and anything pertaining to Almost Heaven.

First we have Lady Elizabeth Cameron, the most beautiful girl around but even if she’s of noble blood, she is closed to being penniless, and so her brother, in hope of finding a husband for her sister, decided that she be debuted in London.

It is in one of the balls (?) where Elizabeth met Ian Thornton, a man whose reputation is as famous as his looks. Ian spell danger, however, it was then that the two started to fall in love. But with the unpredictable turnout of events, they were separated. With Ian thinking ill of Elizabeth, and Elizabeth harboring hatred towards him (not to mention the her reputation in tatters). A few years after that, the two meet again, how will things turn out?

This story reminded me of Pride and Prejudice + Cinderella (in a weird way). No wonder I love it.

As I mentioned I love everything about AH but most of all, I love Ian Thornton. Why? Because aside the looks, arrogance, wealth and pride he is such an intelligent, no-, he is such a genius man. If ever there is a man I would die to meet, it would be a person just like him.

He wasn’t ashamed of telling Elizabeth he loved her, and I doubt if there’s one instance in the novel where he hadn’t, and I guess it’s one of his endearing qualities.

I love the circumstances surrounding Ian and Elizabeth. Their love-hate relationship, and all of that. In fact I enjoyed AH from beginning ’til end. And if there’s one thing that captivated me, it was how McNaught showed the love between the two leads, it’s beyond magnificent, it’s magical. When I thought the story is near its end, it was when McNaught interjected another conflict, and I tell you, I certainly love that part (Especially when Ian was in the House of Lords).

I highly encouraged you to read this, I’m sure you won’t regret every bit of it. This story had my heart at clutches. It had left me breathless (with dread and anticipation). It had… What more can I say? Read and you’ll feel almost at heaven.