Tags

, , , ,

I find myself again on KimuTaku marathon =p.

P   L   O   T

Katagiri Teppei (Kimura Takuya) is a promising creative agent, but whose attitude gets him transferred to the sales department. He has to learn to adapt to the new working environment, which includes cutting his precious locks of hair to create a neater and more appropriate image. Helping him along the way is Uesugi Riko (Matsu Takako), whom he tried to pick up along the street earlier but was tricked by her instead. Riko does not have a good impression of him at first, but falls for him gradually. However, Teppei runs into his ex-girlfriend Mizuhara Sanae (Junna Risa) who is now the girlfriend of his brother Soichiro (Uchino Masaaki). Consoling him is Riko, whom Teppei likes gradually. Just when Teppei and Riko start dating, Sanae realises that she still likes Teppei (source: dramawiki).

T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

How old was I when this was shown? Around 7.

I find it interesting that I was watching a drama shown around the time when I was still a kid who was not even aware that there exist a Jdrama. Lol. Ironic isn’t it?

At first I encountered difficulty finding a site to DL this drama, because hello, it’s been like 13 years since its airing, but voila! I found it and presto, hello ’97 Love Generation.

One thing that is quite obvious about LG is the quality of the video, not that I am complaining but it shows how technology quickly progressed right? Plus, I can’t believe I’m seeing Japan way back in ’97, Japan felt quite ancient, haha, as compared to now.

One may think why watch an old drama? If I wasn’t myself, I can feel myself asking the same, but from what I’d seen Love Generation is what most consider a classic Jdrama. Not to mention it stars the king of Jdrama – Kimura Takuya.

So, how’s Love Generation?

At first, I was a bit discouraged to continue watching LG because I thought I’d be bored (sometimes the video quality can make one reconsider whether to watch a drama or not). Another thing was judging from the synopsis I read, KimuTaku’s character don’t quite appeal to me. However, once you get passed the video quality issue, one thing I can assure you, you’ll learn to like Love Generation.

Again, my declaration of love for Kimura Takuya. He is ahsaksasaksjaksja;, haha, i guess you should read my reviews of his other dramas to know how much I love him as an actor. I’ll never tired of repeating this all over again: “Give him any role and he’ll surely portray it brilliantly.” Yeah, that’s KimuTaku for you. As for Matsu Takako, I can also say that she is a good actress, and surely I would not mind seeing her around, though her character can be annoying at times but still I like her.

What’s great about this two is that they have great chemistry. As in they look so good on screen. I love how they started (always bickering) and how they come to terms with their feelings towards each other. As I mentioned Riko can be persistent and loud to the point that you’ll be annoyed with her but then it complements Teppei’s character. Seeing this two made me happy and sad at the same time. I’m happy when they’re both happy but then it pains me when they are not in terms with each other.

Ohhh. The heartache. I pity Riko, ‘coz she loves Teppei so much, not that Teppei doesn’t love her back but sometimes I’m not sure of what Teppei really feels for her. I’m sure he loved her but then his past still haunts him, and it brings unbearable pain to Riko. Out of all the dramas of KimuTaku I’ve seen, I think Love Generation is the first one to make me me cry (excluding Beautiful Life, I have yet to see it). There were scenes that were so heartbreaking, I can’t help but to TT. But as the drama says, “True Love Never Runs Smooth”

Overall, Love Generation has become one of my favorite KimuTaku dramas. I don’t know what made me like it so much but there’s definitely something about this drama that I can’t get over with, I finished it on one sitting (less than a day). If before the quality of the video bugged me, I soon learned that it’s one of the factors that made me love this drama and not to mention the drama’s OST, I love all the songs, hearing it play on the background made me appreciate the scenes more. I love the “feel” of LG, the feeling of living in the 90s so nostalgic, I think I would trade anything to go back to that period of time. No wonder it’s a classic. No matter how old it may be, I’m sure it will continue to touch peoples hearts. Let me just say I’m so proud of this drama. Though yes, I wasn’t that satisfied with the ending (they could have made it more romantic/good) but i don’t care, lmao.