Tags

, , ,

Year of Broadcast: 2009

Episodes: 8

P   L   O   T

Tsukumo Ryusuke (Takuya Kimura) is a quirky, yet brilliant neuroscientist working for the National Research Institute of Police Science. Wielding a unique perspective and psychology, Tsukumo tackles the nation’s most baffling crimes and scandals, going head-to-head with the most brilliant and twisted criminal minds.

But his eccentricities and poor social timing can also aggravate people and circumstances, further complicating matters. —TBS (source: dramawiki)

T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

(arggghhh, I was almost done with this review but then all was lost :|)

Kimura Takuya’s latest drama (well even if it was aired a year ago, it was his latest).

I gotta say I truly respect TK as an actor, more so that he is my favorite Japanese actor of all time. The man is plain brilliant.

Takuya plays the role of Tsukumo (also referred to as Mr. Brain). Tsukumo was initially an employee of a host club before he met an accident (where he miraculously survived) that directed him to pursue Brain Science and to eventually become a special in the said field. He was then hired to work for IPS (in which he was asked to develop the branch of BS). However due to his sneaky and easy-going attitude he often found himself involve in the cases handled by the police.

Mr. Banana Brain is a fun watch. Never did I regret watching the series. There was never a second when I was bored, for me every episode is worth the watch. Every episode was interesting. It’s interesting to discover how the mystery will be solved and at the same time it’s interesting to see what crazy things will Tsukumo do. I enjoyed Mr. Brain mostly because of TK himself. Man is Takuya a hell of an actor. Give him any role and I’m 200% sure he’ll portray it well. His role in Mr. Brain is probably one of my favorite roles of his (I think I like Haru best). It’s funny seeing him act childish, he’s such a cutie. How can a man be childish and hot at the same time (and please he’s like in his late thirties)? I guess only TK can accomplish that. Aside from that, the show is quite educational, supplying the viewers with trivia and tidbits about the brain. Now, what more could you ask for? I’m sure one’s brain will work hard just by watching this drama. Another thing I like is how even though the story is about cases, killings, etc., it never gave me the feeling of seriousness, I felt lightheaded all throughout the episodes, it is probably because of Tsukumo’s presence (his antiques, attitude).

As for the main cast, I can’t complain about them. They have done their part well in the series. Though at first I was not that enthusiastic about them (except TK of course) but as the series progressed and as I learned more about them, I found them endearing. And I was surprise to learn that Ayase Haruke (Kazune) was the lead in Hotaru no Hikari (I like her in that drama btw).

What makes this drama more interesting is the fact that there were guests in almost all the episodes, and by ‘guests’ they are not your ordinary star, most of them are like big stars (or so I think). Gackt, Kamenashi Kazuya, Koyuki, Nakama Yukie, Aibu Saki, Sato Takeru. Only shows how big this drama is right? I like the episode were Gackt appeared, he can really be scary right? I also love the episode where Nakama Yukie appeared (she’s one of my favorite actress).

Favorite episode? scene? Almost all scenes were worth liking, especially the parts where Tsukumo shows his crazy side. All the episodes, by the way, illustrates Tsukumo’s eccentricity.

I love the scenes were Tsukumo tricks the people around him (he tricks them and later on explains the logic behind it). The picture above shows some of my favorite scenes. One of them was the scene where Tsukumo chased the rat (was that a rat? hamster? rodent? what was it) around the hospital, and when he showed it to Tanbara san. Another was the part where they (tsukumo, kazune and junpei) played the word game, ahahahahhahaha, sooo funny.

But my most favorite scene would have to be this (see pic above). I think it was episode 6? This part was pure epic. HAHA. I guess you should see to believe. lol (I wish I can do a .gif)

One thing about Mr. Brain is the lack of romance. Not that I am complaining but I personally think it is better to not include the element of romance in the drama. Though there’s a tiny tiny tiny hint that there may be something but I guess it will not happen. ‘Coz for me incorporating a love story will spoil Mr. Brain as a whole, it’s good to leave things as is.

Lastly, I do hope that there would be a season 2, the series is too short, and I sure would not mind seeing Tsukumo san again🙂