Tags

, , ,

Year of Broadcast: 2008

Episodes: 10

P   L   O   T


Blessed with good looks, Takano Kyohei, a college student, is always suffering from the unreasonable behaviour of customers who want him and the sexual harassment of his store manager. Because of his hot temper, he loses his head on this occasion and is fired from his part-time job. Then one day, the glamorous owner, Ms Nakahara proposes, “I’ll give you free board-and-lodging if you can turn my niece, Sunako, into a lady!” Kyohei and Toyama Yukinojo, Oda Takenaga and Morii Ranmaru, the other guys living together in the same boarding house, are enthusiastic, but the person who appears before the four of them is a spooky girl whose hair covers her face and who loves horror and vampires. And so, their tumultuous communal life begins (source: dramawiki)

THOUGHTS

The first Japanese Drama I’ve seen after a long time. That only shows how long I’ve been inactive in the Jdorama scene.

If you would ask me which I like better, the drama or the anime, I’d probably say the drama.

Ever before watching the drama, I saw the anime and it was so-so (sorry to those who are hardcore fans), I always hear Yamato Nadeshiko being compared to Ouran, and truth be told, I like the latter way better.

Back to the drama, I like the drama more, though it didn’t wholly follow the anime’s plot (or so I thought, sorry again, I can’t remember the details of the anime). During the first episode, I thought that the drama is kinda weird and different from what I was expecting, but after seeing a couple of episodes, I grew to like the drama. Actually, it’s kinda hard to do a live action of Yamato Nadeshiko since there were a lot of special effects used, but the way the production staff handled it was kind of good. I wished that somehow they’ve shown more, that more scenes were added, but given that it is only 10 episodes long, I guess I could not ask for more.

I’m not a Kame (Kyouhei) fan (but I like him best in Gokusen 2), but after seeing him in YNSH, I started to like him more, I mean his acting and him as an actor. As for the other casts, it was my first time seeing Oomasa (Sunako) act, and at first I thought she wasn’t that pretty, but after a few episodes, what amazed me was how she seems to shine, haha, I guess the more Sunako evolves (?) the more Oomasa shines. Tegoshi perfectly captures Yuki’s role (he looks like a girl, lol). I missed Uchi’s (Takenaga) acting, I like seeing him in mysterious/quiet type of roles ‘coz it suits his personality.

Lastly, what I loved most was the ending. It was one of the sweetest ending I’ve ever seen, and Kame one of the actors who can actually kiss (awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, haha, gomen ne, I was really taken away by that scene).