Tags

, , , ,

Year of Broadcast: 2010

Episodes: 16

Cast: DramaWiki

P  L  O  T


Kang Suk Ho (Kim Soo Ro) is an ordinary lawyer who decides to take up a job at the nearby high school. After seeing the conditions of the school and the poor grades all the students have, Suk Ho decides to create a special class promising admission to the most prestigious college in Korea, “Chun-Ha-Dae University.” Five of the most laziest students – Hwang Baek Hyun (Yoo Seung Ho), Gil Pul Ip (Go Ah Sung), Na Hyun Jung (Ji Yeon), Hong Chan Doo (Lee Hyun Woo), and Oh Bong Goo (Lee Chan Ho) join the class to in order to prove that they can do it with hard work and dedication (source: dramawiki).

T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

The first Korean drama I watched after months of abstinence. haha.

For those, who are not aware, God of Study is based on the Japanese drama (or manga too?) Dragon Zakura, I made a review of that drama two years ago, if you’re interested to read it, just go HERE.

Now, I would not want to compare the two, because honestly, I can’t even remember Dragon Zakura that clearly and both the drama have their own strengths, plus God of Study ‘based’ the plot from DZ, from the bits that I can recall about DZ’s story, there were similarities, but then the story as a whole is different (not all were based from DZ).

On to the review.

Overall, I enjoyed watching GoS (even shed a few tears), though I’ve seen Dragon Zakura, God of Study proved to be different from DZ, let’s just say GoS is the Korean way (not version ‘coz just what I said they are different, duh, I am redundant right? :D) of showing the process that students go through to go to college, or to go to the most prestigious school/college of Korea.

The thing is, though the plot is not really applicable to me (since I’m already in college), but watching the series, brings back memories. hahaha. I think a lot could relate, almost people of all ages could. The drama made sure that it can touch different aspects of life. Though I can’t understand the lessons/subjects thoroughly (it’s made for the koreans obviously) but still it hit its mark.

The casts. I think they are perfect. LOL. I love them all. I like how they have this different backgrounds, and they were given their own spotlights within the show. Of course, you should know that I heart Seung Ho, so I will not go on with my rant about him (though yes, he’s a great actor, no doubt). What surprised me most was Ji Yeon (Hyun Jung), honestly, I did not like her ’til episode 8 (or so), but after that episode, I grew fond of her, and I learn to love her character more than Pulip I guess. She’s too cute and adorable ^.^

What I also like is how they incorporated romance on the story (I’m a s*cker for romance). I’m BaekHyun x Pulip all the way (which explains my dislike towards HyunJung).

Another thing I like are the teachers. They were given their fair share of screen time, and they have their own personalities, which is kinda cute (e.g. science teacher).

Lastly, I like how they ended the series. With the results on who passed, and with the decisions done by each of the students. I was made to think that what happened in the kids’ life truly happens in reality. I wasn’t a tad disappointed on the ending, it’s pretty appropriate.