Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Episodes: 16

Year of Broadcast: 2008

P  L  O  T

Xu Le (Vic Zhou) is a bestselling author who never left home. He was recently struck with a case of writer’s block and decides to search for inspiration. So he decides to work as a taxi driver hoping that by listening to his passengers; he’ll be struck with some inspiration. Coincidentally, Xu Le meets his high school classmate, Ah Hao (Ken Zhu), who is also a taxi driver. Xu Le has not seen Ah Hao for years. Ma Yong Rui/Xiao Ma (Kingone Wang) is an heir to a five-star hotel and is also Xu Le’s and Ah Hao’s old classmate. Lu Yi (Terri Kwan) is now a fashion magazine editor and she was the dream girl that they all wanted. Pan Neng Xian/Nancy (Michelle Kwan) is a 24 year old girl who recently graduated from college, who gets a job as a PR assistant in Yong Rui’s five-star hotel.

THOUGHTS

F4! or shall I say JKVK? \m/ (- the J)

Again, I’m in a point where dramas don’t quite appeal to me. However, while I was browsing through the shows on TV, I accidentally saw Wish to See You Again. This was aired in Taiwan last 2008 but that time, after briefly looking at the summary, I opted not to watch it (I think what I saw back then was the term “taxi driver”, I won’t elaborate on my taste in dramas, lol). Plus I thought Megan Lai was the lead actress (oops, I’m not a fan, honestly).

So, after watching an episode on tv, I became interested (Vic = “taxi driver” who is actually a famous writer), & then from yahoo-ing the show’s info (& I think I came across one site telling that Vanness guest starred in this drama), I decided to watch it ^_^

I learned that WTSYA should be a drama featuring all of F4 (from here onwards, I’ll use the term F4), but because of Jerry’s busy schedule, he was replaced by Kingone. Too bad, it would have been an F4 drama reunion.

Review

For me, WTSYA is an okay drama. Not too great but not bad, it’s a little bit above average for me (I’m pretty bias since I’m an F4 fan).

I came across some blog saying that F4 can’t act, honestly, I can’t tell any difference, I’ve seen a fair amount of Vic’s & Jerry’s dramas (more of ZaiZai’s), and for me they are great (as compared to others), Vanness is slowly honing his skills in acting, sometimes he tend to overact (in WTSYA) & sometimes his emotions were lacking but hey, this series is like 2 years ago, he has improved A LOT, especially in Autumn’s Concerto, and Ken, well I guess he should learn more (specifically in expressing his emotions), given that his character’s the angsty sort. Kingone, on the other hand, has performed rather well.

What I noticed about Wish To See You Again is it didn’t have a major villain, reflecting on the dramas I’d seen, it clearly deviated from the usual norm. Then, how did the story developed? It pretty much revolved around the story of friendship. The friendship between the three leads (Xu Le, Ah Hao and Xiao Ma), seeing some promotional pics from WTSYA, you could notice how the three leads stick to one another while the two girls are either at both ends or are together at one side. For me, this only shows that friendship is the number one underlying theme in this drama, though yeah, one can’t deny the romantic element. I’m amazed on how the series showed three friends with three different attitudes and yet they get along well ^^. We have Xu Le – the introvert; Xiao Ma – the caring, sincere and happy go lucky lad; and Ah Hao – the brave, naughty but loving older brother figure

The drama didn’t bore me, but come the second half, I found myself fast forwarding scenes (the only time I focus is when Vic or Vanness is/are on the scene), not that it isn’t any good but because I’m in a hurry. This drama is the type where in you’ll wish for it to only be 12 episodes long, because it will be enough to solve all the conflicts, to tie up loose ends and also to avoid draggy scenes but 16 episodes isn’t that bad either.

What contributed to me liking this drama were the songs used (it’s a major factor). As in I adore all the OSTs used, especially the ones by F4. During the OP credits, you’ll here Waiting For You, and, really, just seeing the opening credits is enough to get me excited + the ending song & preview is enough to make me anticipate the episode(s) to come.

One interesting thought I heard about this drama is how it seemed to promote Taiwan’s tourism – to which I agree, they showed a lot of beautiful places that never have I imagined existed in Taiwan.

As for Vic and Michelle’s team up, I have to say they have good chemistry. They look perfect for each other ^^.  Though Michelle, pretty and talented as she may be, isn’t ready to be a leading lady just yet (in my opinion), idk but let’s wait and see🙂 Regarding Vic’s overall performance, I think he did act superb, especially being the quiet-shy-funny-weirdo writer.

That wraps up my thoughts on the series.