Tags

, , , ,

My heart’s not made of stone.

P  L  O  T

chinguDespite their different family backgrounds, four friends grew up together in the wearisome years of the 70s.

But as time goes by, each of them takes a different life path. After enrolling in college, Sang-taek and Joong-ho return to visit Dong-su and Joon-suk, only to find one of them in jail and the other on drugs.

Slowly life takes difficult turns where friends become rivals in the crime world. (source: crunchyroll.com)

T H O U G H T S

I was searching for possible korean movies to watch when I came into a blog telling how great the movie Friend is. Being intrigued, I tried to see if it was true, plus, Jang Dong Gun’s one of the main character (I really looked up to this man’s acting).

I don’t know if it’s just because I wasn’t paying close attention but there were parts in the movie that I didn’t understand. Thankfully, through researching I was enligthened🙂

Many have said that this movie made them cry but yet again maybe I wasn’t paying my full attention while watching (blame my cousin) but what I can say is that, this is indeed a good (great movie). From the cinematography to the casts, the dialogues and the way it was written, it’s superb. For one thing, humor was present all through out the film. I haven’t watched too many movies about gangs/mafias but I think Friend clearly showed how gangsters live.

And as expected what a way to end the movie (is all of JDG’s movies end in such a note?) but still the movie lived up to its title. It would probably be meaningful for boys/men to watch this for I’m pretty sure they can relate to the story.

There are many types of friends, different definitions, different situations (one can see these in the movie).

I’m sorry for the crappy review, my mind’s not functioning well, lol.