Tags

, , , , ,

WEE. Finished a korean drama after a long time🙂

Year of Broadcast: 2009

P  L  O  T

shining inheritance

Go Eun Sung’s life is similar to Cinderella’s. After her father died, her step-mother, Baek Sung Hee, took away all of her assets and her younger brother, Eun Woo, suddenly disappears without a trace. Despite this, Eun Sung preservers and works really hard to fulfill her dreams. When the CEO of a food company, Jang Sook Ja, suffers amnesia and can’t remember who she is Eun Sung takes her in. However, Eun Sung does not know that she is the grandmother of Sun Woo Hwan, the man who she switched bags with at the airport. How will their constant bickering lead them to realize that they care more about each other than they let on? (source: dramawiki)

T  H  O  U  G  H  T  S

Watching Shining Inheritance is not really a plan of mine (in any case you saw the hiatus notice above), however I was tempted to watch it last Thursday.

A brief insight on what urged me then. I, together with my cousins were watching Chil Princesses on our local television last Wednesday and we all have our eyes on Lee Seung Gi, then a friend/clanmate texted me about a drama of him (Shining Inheritance that is) and told me how it’s Cinderella-ish ^^ & so through researching about S.I. I was motivated to watch the whole thing.

On to my review..

First is the whole drama. I pretty much like it😉 It’s probably not the ‘best’ drama out there however Shining Inheritance definitely has its charm. I think this is the longest korean drama I’ve seen (28 episodes) however all throughout the suration of the drama, I was glued to the screen.

What’s good about Shining Inheritance is that it contains a little bit of everything. Issues like love, family, loyalty, etc. were present and were given their own importances at some point in the story. Though I have to admit that I wish there were more romantic scenes with Hwan (Seung Gi) and Eun Sung (Hyo Joo) xD

I can’t tell much of how good Shining Inheritance is, without mentioning the actors and actresses.

Lee Seung Ki as Hwan. This is my first time seeing Seung Ki act. I only saw him for like 10 mins in Chil Princesses (btw, I never watched the entire thing, just a few glimpses). For me, I like the way he portrayed Hwan’s character. From being the bratty Hwan in the beginning, to a totally dependable Hwan by the series’ end he played the part really well. I would not be surprised if he’ll be the leading actor in future dramas, because for me, he is a brilliant actor (jeez, is this my fangirl side talking??). Truth is, I think he’s one of my favorite now.

Han Hyo Joo as Eun Sung. Hyo Joo. I can’t praise this girl enough. I can still remember the review I made about Spring Waltz (which is also posted in this blog) and how I wrote that her face’s one of the prettiest I’ve seen, and I still stand by my word. Ironic is it, that before I wrote how Hyo Joo’s face always looks so innocent, more so, she’s the modest, innocent type of girl (at least in Spring Waltz) however, she surprised me in Shining Inheritance, it’s good to see that she improved a lot, yes, she still looks innocent, but there were many scenes in S.I. that I can see fierceness in her eyes. I also happened to watch her in Non Stop 5, and to tell you frankly, her character in Non Stop 5, Spring Waltz and Shining Inheritance are not even on the same league. Based from that, I conclude that Hyo Joo is one great actress. The same as Seung Ki, she’s becoming one of my favorite actress. I’m sure given a few years time, she can be comparable to Song Hye Kyo, etc. (I can even see Hye Kyo in her sometimes)

From here on, I would not be giving detailed review on every character (too lazy)..

Bae Soo Bin as Park Jun Se. I’m sure if only Jun Se’s a real person, all the girls would fall for him. His character in the series is to die for, being always by Eun Sung’s side and loving her ^_^

The antagonist – Yoo Seung Mi (Moon Chae Won) and her mom. We all know that in every story there’s always a villain, and so here’s ours. LOL. However it’s more of like Seung Mi’s mom being the villain, because Seung Mi’s good deep down, and it’s all her mom’s fault. Gotta give her mom the credit for all the bad thing’s she’s done to Eun Sung.

To summarize, I recommend this series to everyone. Don’t be disheartened by the length of this drama, I’ll confess that I fast forwarded some of the scenes (only those involving Seung Mi and her mom and Director Park, lol lol) but putting that aside, you’ll find lots of great things in Shining Inheritance. Would you believe me if I told you I cried during the first two episodes? HAHAHA. There’s a lot of emotion present in this drama, and it does not only focus on Eun Sung and Hwan, there’s also development on the other characters. I think I should stop talking, but please do watch.

And for Pinoys, super lapit na siyang ipalabas sa GMA, hehe ^^