Tags

, , , , ,

Year of Broadcast: 2004

Casts:

  • Kim Dong-wan as Yong-gaek
  • Hyun Bin as Min-gyu
  • Jo An as Su-bin

P L O T

spin kickManseh high school used to be well known for its Tae-kwon-do team, but its fame has died with the passing of time. The current team lacks motivation and no serious desire to train and their teacher leaves them for another school.

After school one day in a crowded bus, the members of the high school’s notorious gang decide to challenge the passengers on the bus by drawing a line on the floor of the bus daring anyone to cross into their marked territory. Unfortunately, some of the tae-kwon-do students cross the line and the gangsters brutally attack and viciously beat the tae-kwon-do students to a pulp. The gangsters are hauled away by the police, while the tae-kwon-do members were taken to the ER.

The principal offers them one last option, either join the tae-kwon-do team, win the competition and stay in school or stay in jail and get kicked out of school. After some hesitation the troublemakers choose the training. Unfortunately the school does not have a coach yet, until a team member finds an old school picture and notices a possible candidate for the position. But will he be the right one? (source: avistaz.com)

T H O U G H T S

Another movie I watched because of a Shinhwa member. If you read my last shinhwa post (in this blog), you’ll remember me telling that Dongwan is my 2nd favorite Shinhwa member.

Moving on.

First, I was surprised to know about Hyun Bin being in this film. I am a fan of his, and this aside from Dongwan being the lead made Spin Kick interesting to watch.🙂

Let’s get on with the story. I enjoyed watching Spin Kick because Wannie and Binnie’s in it. Just joking. I am fine with any story line (as long as it’s not horror) and even if it’s not evident, I am a fan of movies with sports as a theme. Why do I like it? Probably my father and brother’s influence, plus if you got sport involve in a movie, chances of having the lead falling for a girl is low, lol, once in a while it’s nice to watch a film without romance and the usual mushy scenes *winks*

Same as any other sport movie, Spin Kick tells the tale of how delinquents changed to become good athletes. It’s good to see their transformation and at the same time the hardships that they undergone to be able to prove their worth ^_^. I wasn’t bored, and that’s good. You’ll learn lessons (as always) from the story, and this is a great watch for inspiring/budding athletes.

As for the actors. They did fine. Especially Dong Wan, the camera loves him and he can act, it’s as if he’s natural in actiong (sorry minwoo oppa but wannie beats you in acting, lol). For once, wannie’s image as a singer left my mind and I think of him as an actor. Hyun Bin also did well as well as the rest of the casts.

Do I have to tell you to watch this? It’s just sad that only a few people knows this or would have the curiosity to try this, I was looking for info about Spin Kick and there weren’t too many sites, so you, if you haven’t seen this, go watch now, haha.