Tags

, , , ,

Year of Broadcast: 2006

Cast:

  • Lee Minwoo
  • Im Ha Ryung
  • HaHa
  • Kim Sang Jung

P  L  O  T

wontaksangelThis is a story of a misbehaved high school son who will create an affectional bond with his father who is reincarnated in the form of his friend after his death.

The main character Kang WonTak (Lee Minwoo) is a high school student who had a bad relationship with his father. Kang Wontak’s father, Kang YoungGue (Im HaRyoung) died the day before he was released from jail.

At his father’s funeral, WonTak said “Are you happy that you are going alone?” and ran out of the funeral.

YoungGue meets an angel and told him that, “I want to be next to my son, even for a second.” So, the angel gave him a chance and changed (rebirth) YoungGue to WonTak’s class friend Ha DongHoon (HaHa).

However it was hard for the 50 year old man to get used to the life of an 18 year old’s high school student.

It was like mixing oil with water, watching WonTak wondering, “What kind of a guy is this” and DongHoon trying whatever it takes to be with his son. (source: minwooforum + midoyo.net)

T H O U G H T S

Am I a proud minbong fangirl. jk. I’m gonna tell the truth, of course it’s obvious that I watched this because Minwoo’s in the cast.

However, let me get things straight, watching Wontak’s Angel wasn’t on my original plan, since before I thought Minwoo’s doing a supporting role and I’m not a fan of HaHa, but it turned out that Minwoo’s the lead. lol.

I’ll start with my expectation of the film. I was not expecting much, because I know for a fact that HaHa’s more of a comedian whilst acting isn’t Minwoo’s forte.

Obviously I was mistaken, because I enjoyed the film from start to finish.🙂 The movie’s so funny, amusing and at the same time heart warming.

I’ll start with the two leads.

hahaminu

HaHa first. I find his acting great. He’s born to make people laugh🙂 There’s never a dull moment with him on screen. Then comes Minwoo. You know I love him, but I won’t be biased. During the first few minutes with him acting, I was like “no minwoo, that doesn’t look like you’re acting”, or maybe it’s because I am so used to seeing his true dorky self that I am blinded by it, that I refused to see a rebel minwoo, however as the movie continued, I quickly adapted to his acting, and I can say that he has the potential to be an actor (thing is, minwoo’s not an actor, you seldom see him act), there’s definitely a room for improvement, he just needs to polish some things and he’s good, nevertheless I am so proud of Minwoo, I love to see him on screen (of course) and the good thing is HaHa’s there to complement Minwoo’s acting/role. HaHa and Minwoo look good on screen together.

vlcsnap-510474

Story wise, I love the story.🙂 We may have encountered stories like Wontak’s Angel, but it would never bore us. What I like about WA is it covers a lot of aspect, tackles about life, repentance, family, friendship. There’s substance in the story. I was laughing all throughout the film, yet at the end I cried a lot, the ending was so touching. I recommend that you should try this too, you’ll not regret it ^_^ I’m saying this not because Minwoo’s involved, but because the movie’s worth of my praise. lol