Tags

, ,

Year of Broadcast: 2004

Episodes: 16

PLOT 

Cha Moo Hyuk was adopted by an Australian family but was abused and left homeless at an early age. One day he comes across Song Eun Chae, the coordinator for Choi Yune, a famous singer in Korea, whom she is secretly in love with. Her fateful encounter with Moo Hyuk ends up affecting not only her life but that of her precious Yune as well.

misa

Because of an accident involving his ex-girlfriend, Moo Hyuk is left with 3 months to live. This leads him to head back to Korea in search of his biological mother. The discoveries he makes, changes his heart from longing to revenge. Even with all this darkness surrounding him, he finds an unexpected source of happiness with someone he did not expect to love. (source: dramawiki)

THOUGHTS

How can I miss a drama such as MiSa?

Answer: Because I was not into So Ji Sup, he as an actor don’t quite appeal to me (at least his character in Memories of Bali).

However, due to reviews I’ve read about this series, I decided to give it a try.

And man, was I surprised to like everything about it, even So Ji Sup himself.

I’m Sorry, I Love You is one of the dramas that will left an impact after you watched it. It’s the type which how many times you see it, you’ll never get tired of the story. There are only a few korean dramas that has this effect on me, and many of them are usually the light/romantic comedy, so it’s surprising enough for me to have MiSa (mianhada saranghanda = i’m sorry, i love you in korean) included in this category.

What makes MiSa a good series? Basically everything. From the plot, actors/actresses, cinematography, osts, everything. It has everything that I wanted from a series.

Story wise, it’s great. It does not only focus on the love between Moo Hyuk (SJS) and Eun Chae (ISJ) but more so, it tackles the struggle of a son, who is yearning for the love of his mother who “abandoned” him. I like how the story focuses on Moo Hyuk’s attempt to gain the love/attention of his mom even though the latter sort of despises him (early in the story), it touched a spot in my heart, and I’m sure everyone who watched this felt the sorrow that Moo Hyuk’s undergone. Tell you, anything that involves Mother/Child relationship is worth watching, and it is heart wrenching. Another factor why MiSa’s addicting is on how the audience knew from the beginning that Moo Hyuk will eventually die at the end. Don’t think of me as a sadist, it’s not what you are thinking, what I meant is that everything that Moo Hyuk does, even if it’s good or bad would not affect the audience’ view on him, in whatever he does, we (viewers) will always symphatize with him.

The actors did really well, especially the two leads. They have great onscreen chemistry.  After watching this, I think So Ji Sup is one heck of an actor. His acting is brilliant.

However, even if I super like this series I was rather disappointed in the ending. Not because it is tragic but because of the fact that the relationship between Moo Hyuk and his mother wasn’t given much importance, or a proper conclusion. I was expecting to see a scene where in MH’s mother would know that Moo Hyuk is her real son, and I badly want to see her reaction because in the first place this is one of the reasons why I am so hooked up with the story.

To sum up, I’m Sorry, I Love You is a drama that is worth your time. It’s one of the best korean dramas that I’ve seen, and there wasn’t a single moment that bored me, every second is enjoyable, and there are scenes that would make you cry.