Tags

, ,

Year of Broadcast: 2004

PLOT

orange-daysKai Yuuki (Satoshi Tsumabuki) is in his senior year at university studying social welfare psychology. At present, he is in the middle of job-hunting season. He is finding it difficult with no job offers so far. One day, he meets a girl who is playing violin in the campus. She is Sae Hagio (Kou Shibasaki). In marked contrast to her beautiful tone and attractive looks, her personality is somewhat impertinent. And to top it off, she communicates through very vulgar sign language. Four years ago, she lost the most important thing for a violinist – her hearing. As a result Sae closed off her inner self from the outside world. Kai finds himself on a date with Sae, in place of his best friend. Unexpectedly, he comes into contact with Sae’s private side. Love, job-hunting, friendship… Setting a campus in spring as a dorama`s backdrop, it’s the start of a glittering youth drama. —TBS (source: dramawiki)

THOUGHTS

I heard so much about this jdrama and so I tried it.

After seeing the first episode, I thought “this drama’s pretty old”, it kinda remind me of KimuTaku’s old dramas.

Did it bore me? No, surprisingly the first episode has brought me intrigued on how the plot will turn out. And I think I’ll have to tell you how romantic the first episode is (towards the end) that it made me teary eyed, lol (I’m a crybaby)

The central theme of the story revolves on Sae being deaf and how she’ll be able to overcome it + ofcourse how her relationship with Kai will develop, but more than that I think one important aspect that Orange Days wanted to convey on its audience is how college life is, or how important friends are. This drama affected me deeply because I can somehow relate to the characters life (being a college student myself and experiencing confusion on how my life will turn out).

However I must admit that I found some parts boring, still it isn’t important on my overall view on this drama.

Orange Days completely lived up to it’s name. In one of the episodes Kai told that an orange is bittersweet, just like this drama which had its moment of bitterness and sweetness.

OD’s one I can classify as a classic jdrama, the same as Pride and Beautiful Life.