Tags

, ,

Year of Broadcast: 2006

PLOT

smiling-pastaXiao Shi is a girl who has gone through many short relationships, 17 to be exact, not one lasting more than 3 months hence, she was cursed with a three-month curse. After being dumped by her 17th boyfriend, the world looks grimmer than ever. At that time, a famous idol, He Qun runs past, bumps into Xiao Shi, and they end up “kissing” on the street. Paparazzi swarmed by and to avoid a bad reputation, He Qun’s manager declared Xiao Shi as He Qun’s girlfriend of one year and fiancée. Thus, a love contract was made. This story is about how the couple learns to like each other after having disagreements in the beginning, as well as fighting the injustices the media throw at them. Will Xiao Shi finally break her 3 month curse? (source: dramawiki)

THOUGHTS

Smiling Pasta started great, then midway through the show, it got kind of tiring, but let me explain why first okay?

I read from Dramawiki that SP’s supposed to be a remake of the korean drama Full House, I think it’s more on the concept part.

What’s good about this drama is how light hearted and funny the scenes were. You’ ll enjoy watching every episode because it deviated from the dramatic plotline that other dramas have. Speaking of dramatic plotline, I haven’t encounter a taiwanese drama with that theme for quite a long time now (or is it because I haven’t watch that many tw dramas?), and honestly I miss watching series like those.

Back to Smiling Pasta, this drama’s “aura” is similar to dramas like My Lucky Star, FTLY, etc. I noticed it during the first episode and so I thought that it will be good – which it is really.

The actors did well. No doubt about that, I would not elaborate more on this part, it’s for you to see.

Let’s get to the part which made me think that SP’s a bit tiring. For me, it would be better if they squeeze this drama into a 13-14 episode one. ‘Coz if you’ll look more closely, the conflicts in the story started early and come episode 10+, the problems were a bit solved, there isn’t really a huge conflict surrounding SP (which I think is the reason on why it became a light hearted drama) except on how the media influenced He Qun’s social and private life, gosh, the media thing can be so annoying. Past episode 12 I think, I sarted to get a little impatient on how the story’s going because all they talk about is He Qun’s inability to confess his love for Xiao Shi and Xiao Shi pestering He Qun to admit it. You’ll always see this scene.

Enough of my rant, don’t take my review too seriously bec. it’s only my opinion, overall I enjoyed watching Smiling Pasta, and I know a lot of people who also do🙂