Tags

, ,

Year of Broadcast: 2007

PLOT

bsmSix boys with different personalities and backgrounds are notified that they share the same father. On top of that, they are entitled to a huge inheritance. However, there is only one catch: they must attend the same school and live together in the same house for a year. In the end, they become from total strangers to close brothers, as well as making themselves adaptable to the changes in their life.

However, the six brothers not only have to deal with their uneasiness and dislike for one another, but also everything the nine mean girls (Da Ya, Gui Gui, Ya Tou, Tong Tong, Xiao Xun, Xiao Man, Apple, Mei Mei and Xiao Jie) would do to make their school days a living hell for them. Unknown to the other nine girls, Ya Tou is actually the housekeeper of the brothers’ mansion.

To add to their stress, someone is after their inheritance, trying to make them break their contract, and is sending people to their school to do so.

Meanwhile, love blossoms among the brothers and their classmates. (source: wikipedia)

THOUGHTS

I know a lot of people seem to like this drama, for me, it’s not the same case.

Though, BSM’s a fun drama to watch, but somehow I wasn’t completely satisfied on how the story developed. Brown Sugar Macchiato’s full of idols, I recently discovered, while this maybe good for some but somehow it does not quite appeal to me.

Most of the time, all I can see were the actors acting all so cutesy, while this may bring enjoyment to the audience, but if all you can see is “that” during the entire episode, it gets tiring. And the plot’s somehow confusing, it tends to jump from one theme to another, and not to forget is the love pairing, I think one of the reason why BSM isn’t my cup of tea is because the pairing’s confusing and that my dream pairing didn’t completely happen at all.

First is Rong Jia and Wang Zi, it was kind of hinted in the first episode that they may develop feelings for each other, and I was rooting for them but thanks to wikipedia, I learned that they wouldn’t end up together, and WZ will end up with GG (later on, I find this couple cute), there are other pairs I like who hadn’t end up together but I won’t elaborate on it more.

Another thing is how there appears to be no central theme (aside from the money thingie), and there are a lot of actors taking the spotlight, you can see no major development happening.

Despite the things that I said, BSM’s still okay. It’s worth a try, all I said above was just my opinion, it’s up to you to decide.