Tags

, , , ,

Year of Broadcast: 2008

Casts:

Ohno Satoshi as Naruse Ryo/Manaka Tomoo

Ikuta Toma as Serizawa Naoto

Kobayashi Ryoko as Sakita Shiori

SYNOPSIS

This drama is a remake of the popular suspense drama The Devil that was aired in Korea last year. Ohno Satoshi will be playing the role of a two-faced lawyer, one of which is a kind hearted soul and the other who is plotting revenge, using his brilliant mind, on the person who killed his relative. On the other hand, Ikuta Toma will play the double lead role of the man, who has become a detective due to his dark past, who is pursuing the mysterious series of murders and fighting against the devil (maou). [credits: dramawiki]

THOUGHTS

True to its title, Maou’s one of a psychological thriller/suspense. Basically has a dark plot, and I think it does not have much of a happy scene.

Mental fights? HMMM, maybe so, again this story reminds me of Death Note (I assume you already know DN’s story).

About the actors, I think they’ve performed well. They’ve performed well to the extent that I’ve hated them! Such mean characters. As for Naruse Ryo (Ohno), his role suited him well, he has acted it well. And for Naoto (Toma), I’m a fan of his acting skills, give him any roles, and he sure will act that out perfectly. The only complain that I could give to him is that almost all throughout the series, he always shouts.

The story’s good, and tragic. But I like the ending though it wasn’t a happy one, in Maou, you’ll have a lot of realizations, and it will let you think and think and think. It will bring out different emotions from you. Again this is not your usual romantic/comedy type of Japanese Drama (which I am a fan of), still it is a good watch.