Tags

, , , ,

I can’t believe I’ve only watched this now – when I’ve had plenty of chances before. Blame it on my mindset that Vic and Barbie do not have that much of an appeal to me (I like them in Meteor Garden, but..).

Synopsis

Han Qi Luo (Barbie Xu),an extremely shy art student went to the same college as Chen Ling (Vic Zhou),a popular play boy. By chance one day they met at a park when CL asked HQL for direction to a hospital to visit his friend who was injured in a bike racing incident. Hurriedly HQL drew him a map, unknowing that she was drawing on the back of one of her sketches. She ran off before he could thank her. He then noticed the sketch of a mother holding a baby and was touched. In school HQL was sexually harrassed by a teacher and CL came to her rescue. They began to grow fond of each other but each of them had a secret past that needed to be addressed and overcome before they could accept and love one another freely. (credits to DramaWiki)

Review

Mars have aired on our local television about a year ago, while I’ve been a fan of Lei – Sanchai – Daomingsi, but when I’ve heard at that time that Vic and Barbie would star in Mars, I’d just ignored it. Maybe because then I can’t believe that Vic can carry off a bad boy role as oppose to his goody side in MG. And also, the story of it didn’t caught my attention at all.

Then, a few days ago, while I was thinking of a series to watch, I remembered this. I was only intending to watch the first two episodes, and if ever I do not like it – I’ll stop.

Ahaha. But being the drama freak that I am, I’d found myself anticipating the next episode, and I knew that I’m loving the story. There’s something in the flow of it that urges me to watch, and there is this feeling inside of me that Mars would turn out to be a great series.

And it did. I don’t know why, but even though the series is composed of 21 episodes and given that the story isn’t that broad (only focuses on the relationship between Ling and Qiluo, and some bit of their personal life), I never ever felt bored. I was even surprised that I’ve progressed much from watching, I haven’t noticed the time.

Being able to felt that way only means one thing – this series is better than others (but I think My Lucky Star’s better). The story’s so moving and the scenes were touching. At last I have again found a great drama, it’s really hard to find one like this these days, for the trend now is the lovey dovey, tweetums kind of plot (it gets boring actually).

When I’ve mentioned the thing about Zai Zai portraying a bad boy role, I’m completely mistaken, haha. Zai Zai has done a great job as Ling. Oh my, I’m having my Vic fever again. It’s good to see that he was able to show the two sides of Ling.

About Barbie, I can’t erase my Sanchai image of her, so for her role as Qi Luo, I felt different seeing her as a girl who’s weak and afraid of boys. However, I think she’s quite a remarkable actress, I’ve cried at parts when I’ve seen her suffering.

Mars has left me crying, it has really touched my heart. I was happy to be able to watch this, a great love story and a good casts as well.