Tags

, , , ,

Posted on March 20, 2008

”Hallelujah Chance”Currently on Yamapi craze. I was trying to continue watching Kurosagi but then I decided that I should first try Proposal Daisakusen. Originally, I only intended to watch the first episode, but then after watching its pilot episode, my roommate urged me to continue, and so we ended up watching till the second episode, and since I have a so many exams the following day, we stopped.

 

That night we decided that we would finish the series the following night. And so it came, we (my roommate, Joanna, Hannie and myself), armed with lots of chips and juices, started watching it at around 8:30 pm and eventually we ended at 4 am. It’s definitely a marathon, all through out the course of time we were munching, crying, reacting and the sort. And here goes my review of the series.

Synopsis

Iwase Ken(Yamashita Tomohisa) and Yoshida Rei (Nagasawa Masami) have been good friends since primary school. Ken has been harboring feelings for Rei since then but he’s just too shy to admit it to her. And so the episode started with a wedding scene, Rei and Tada-sensei’s wedding ceremony. As Ken watches Rei being married to Tada instead of him, he regrets all of the things that he’s done in the past. He wished that he could go back in time to fix all of the errors that he’s done and to be able to confess his feelings for Rei – if only he’d done that maybe things wouldn’t end up this way.

And so the wedding continues, they have shown a slide show of Rei’s life. This too has made Ken feel miserable. But then a “church fairy” appeared in front of him and offered him the chance to go back into the past, the trick is that he can only go back to the time where in the current photo of the slide is taken, and of course he should be in the photo. And he was able to travel back in time, but changing one’s fate isn’t that easy, and so Ken will have to face many obstacles ahead – some of them he was able to overcome but some are failures. In the end, will Ken be able to propose to Rei, and would that change everything?

Review

We have cried bucket of tears watching this series, it is not a dramatic one but there are just points in the series that one can’t help but cry. We were all crying, it first started when Rei’s grandfather visited her. Then we find ourselves crying towards the last few episodes. Ken’s character is so pitiful, though he is at fault, I can’t put myself to blame him, but there are instances where in I’m so annoyed at his lack of confidence.

Despite the drama, Proposal Daisakusen is a romantic comedy, not only does it focus on Ken’s struggle to change his fate but it also shows the friendship that existed between the characters in the story. And as every slide is focused, one can get a moral lesson out of it. There are a lot of things to learn from, some are inspiring, and some are heart breaking.

The expressions that Yamapi used are so funny. Especially when he does his thing – the “Hallelujah Chance”, it reminds me of him in Nobuta Wo Produce. However, as the show progresses, the Hallelujah thing (the song, not yamapi’s) kinda get on my nerves, haha.

The greatest thing that I’ve discovered in watching this series is how effective and great Yamapi’s crying is. I think that’s the biggest factor on why we cried our hearts out in watching this. I am convinced that Yamapi is the best actor that I’ve seen crying. I cried a lot when he did during the church scene. You couldn’t be not touched by that scene.